Posted by: Patti Dickinson | 06/29/2016

Slow down…..beep beep


My last blog gave an overview of the Dickinson family’s automotive shortcomings.  This is an addendum to that post.

Wood and I drove to Lincoln, Nebraska early last week to visit our son, Andrew, who is a recent graduate of the University of Nebraska.  On the way home, I had a one-on-one, up close and personal conversation with a State Trooper.

Flashing lights in my rearview mirror…..the inevitable crunching of tires on the highway’s shoulder….

STATE TROOPER:  “Where you headed?”

ME:  “To Lincoln.  To visit our son.”  (At this point, I am thinking that the June Cleaver approach might play well….hands-on mother, dying to get to Lincoln to see her sixth born…)

STATE TROOPER:  Big smile, as he asks, “No felonies or warrants, right?”

ME:  “Oh no.  You won’t have to worry about using your handcuffs….”  I am trying to match him laugh for laugh….thinking that this just might wind up, with any luck at all, with a warning…

State Trooper takes my license and registration and proof of insurance………

WAITING….WAITING….WAITING

STATE TROOPER:  Returns to car with my license and an insurance card that isn’t, unbelievably, expired and says, “Hey, you were right.  No felonies!”

ME:  “Well, they’d have a hard time catching me anyway.”

STATE TROOPER:  Big belly laugh..”Yeah, you could probably outrun us.”

And thud. He handed me a speeding ticket.

Lesson learned?  Realistically, probably not.

But I love a good, funny interaction with law enforcement.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

